Home > blah-blah, presentations > What can I do for AMATYC?

What can I do for AMATYC?

Below is a reflection on my recent attendance of the 2012 AMATYC Conference, which I submitted to the NCMATYC fall newsletter.

When someone asks me, “Did you have a good conference?”, I often reply, “How could I not?”, and then continue to share all the wonderful events at the conference.  To quickly sum up my AMATYC 2012 experience I got my math on, gave an Ignite talk (https://sites.google.com/site/2point718271827459045/) , got my math on some more, celebrated in the evenings, got my math on, and did my delegate duties.  Feel free to look up my tweets from the conference for some extra inside scoop, #AMATYC12.  Filling in all of the details would take too long, so I will only offer one short experience.

I attended three days straight of amazing session! In each one of those sessions, people would ask thoughtful follow up questions and offer excellent feedback.  For example, I was in a talk that gave some ideas to spice up a trig course.  The person that I was sitting next to mentioned to the presenter, “Just skip the ambiguous case stuff.  Use the Law of Cosines for Angle Side Side and then apply the quadratic formula.”  The presenter paused for a moment and replied exactly with what I was thinking, “I have never thought about it like that.”  That 15 second comment was the golden nugget that I carried away from that session, inspiring me to create this graph of Angle Side Side, which can be seen here https://www.desmos.com/calculator/xubckxlnba, and write a blog entry about it http://t.co/aNGEHAoH.

What happened in that session was not an isolated event, and, as with every other conference I have attended, I have been overwhelmed with great ideas.  Yet, trying to fit in all of those ideas into my currently overwhelmed scheduled just makes me feel more overwhelmed.  Plus, my frugal instinct tells me not to let go of anything because I might find a time to use it. Yeah, right!  That strategy has resulted in stacks of materials gathering dust on my shelf.  Maybe there needs to be a session called “What to do with all that professional development you just had.”  Am I the only one who walks away from an outstanding conference and only applies a small portion of it?

Perhaps there is a difference between an educator who attends conference and one who efficiently applies the conference.  This reminds me of another AMATYC session I attended where the speaker had their students discuss the characteristics between an A student and a C student.  The data in their survey showed that one perception of students is that doing homework is the main characteristic of an A student.  As an educator, I know that being an A student is much more than just attending class and practicing a few exercises.  But let’s make a switch and apply it towards professional development, like an AMATYC conference.   What are the different characteristics of an A teacher versus a C teacher?  Does a C teacher do professional development differently than an A teacher?

My first intention was not to give a talk at AMATYC or to be a NC delegate.   After fulfilling those duties, I am thankful that I had a nudge from our current NCMATYC president to participate in those events.  Being active at the conference helped challenge me professionally.  Plus, just being around other people who are active in AMATYC is inspiring!  Chat with them for a bit and you can see that they have many characteristics of an A teacher.   I hope to carry this motivation forward with AMATYC and NCMATYC.  Not only do I want to attend, I want to be involved.  Not only do I want to participate at the conference, I want contribute throughout the year.  Before going to Jacksonville, my perspective on joining AMATYC was “What could they do for me?”.  I now wonder if this is a characteristic of a C teacher.  I imagine that an A teacher would step up to the challenge and say, “What can I do for AMATYC?”

Categories: blah-blah, presentations Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

